Washington, DC - FDA Commissioner Scott Gottlieb, M.D.: Chairman Hoeven, Ranking Member Merkley and members of the Subcommittee. Thank you for the invitation to testify today to discuss the President’s Fiscal Year (FY) 2019 Budget request and for this Subcommittee’s continued, strong support of the FDA.

Washington, DC - Vice President Mike Pence announced the appointment of Lieutenant General (Ret) Joseph Keith Kellogg, Jr. as National Security Advisor to the Vice President. General Kellogg will remain an Assistant to President Donald J. Trump.

Washington, DC - Second Lady Karen Pence welcomed members of the Indiana World Organization of China Painters to the Vice President’s Residence to thank the artists for their contribution to our nation’s history. Thirty-nine artists from Indiana painted 100 porcelain dessert plates and each one is decorated with a state flower. Each of the 50 states has two plates. The new plates will coordinate with the blue and gold Lenox china chosen by the Bidens.

Washington, DC - Attorney General Jeff Sessions has appointed Ilene J. Lashinsky as the U.S. Trustee for Kansas, New Mexico, and Oklahoma (Region 20) for an interim period, and Paul A. Randolph as the Acting U.S. Trustee for Kentucky and Tennessee (Region 8), the Executive Office for U.S. Trustees (EOUST) announced today.  These appointments will be effective April 29, upon the retirement of Samuel K. Crocker, the current U.S. Trustee for these two Regions.

Kansas City, Kansas - Three men from the southwest Kansas area were convicted Wednesday on charges of conspiring to detonate a bomb at an apartment complex in Garden City where Muslim immigrants lived, announced Attorney General Jeff Sessions; Acting Assistant Attorney General for the Civil Rights Division John Gore; Assistant Attorney General for the National Security Division John Demers; U.S. Attorney Stephen McAllister; and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Kansas City Division Special Agent in Charge Darrin E. Jones.

Washington, DC - Acting Secretary of State John Sullivan will deliver on-camera remarks on the release of the 2017 Country Reports on Human Rights Practices at 1:00 p.m. on Friday, April 20, 2018, in the Press Briefing Room at the U.S. Department of State.