Irving, Texas - Former San Diego State standout and Pro Football Hall of Famer Marshall Faulk will be considered for 2017 induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame announced today.

Faulk is joined on the ballot by fellow newcomers Peyton Manning, Tony Gonzalez, Troy Polamalu and Troy Vincent. They are among 75 players and six coaches from the FBS level and 95 players and 29 coaches from the divisional ranks to be included on the ballot, which only includes inactive players.

If selected, Faulk would join former Aztecs Don Coryell, the first coach to win 100 games at both the college and NFL level, and Fred Dryer, a Little All-American defensive end, in the College Football Hall of Fame.

A three-time All-American (1991-93) and San Diego State's all-time career leading rusher, Faulk holds the SDSU record for most 300-, 200-, and 100-yard rushing performances by a player and the record for the most 200-yard rushing efforts in a single season. He led the nation in rushing as a freshman in 1991 with 1,429 yards and in 1992 as sophomore with 1,630 yards. Faulk finished in the top nine of the Heisman Trophy balloting in all three of his seasons, including second in 1992 and fourth in 1993. In his time as an Aztec, he rushed for 4,589 yards and 57 touchdowns.

Faulk was the second overall pick in the 1994 NFL Draft by the Indianapolis Colts. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2011 after playing 12 years in the NFL with the Indianapolis Colts (1994-98) and the St. Louis Rams (1999-2005). In his rookie campaign, he rushed for 143 yards and three touchdowns, finishing the season with 1,282 rushing yards and AFC-leading 11 touchdowns to earn Rookie of the Year honors.

A seven-time NFL Pro Bowl selection, Faulk rushed for 1,000 yards in seven of his first eight seasons and was the first player in league history to gain 2,000 yards from scrimmage in four straight seasons (1998-2001). The New Orleans native was named NFL Most Valuable Player in 2000 after setting a single-season record for touchdowns (26) that included a league leading 18 rushing scores, also winning Super Bowl XXXIV with the St. Louis Rams on Jan. 30, 2000.

The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame class will be announced on Jan. 6, 2017 in Tampa, Fla., prior to the College Football Playoff National Championship.