Washington, DC - In recognition of the positive role young people play in building sustainable peace, the U.S. Department of State is honoring outstanding young leaders from around the world. On Wednesday, May 2, the ten recipients of the third annual Emerging Young Leaders Award will be acknowledged in a public ceremony at the State Department for their efforts as partners for peace and drivers of economic growth and opportunity.

The 2018 awardees are:

  • Sara Abdullah Abdulrahman, Iraq
  • Diovio Alfath, Indonesia
  • Ece Çiftçi, Turkey
  • Tanzil Ferdous, Bangladesh
  • Zina Salim Hassan Hamu, Lithuania
  • Dania Hassan, Pakistan
  • Nancy Herz, Norway
  • Isasiphinkosi Mdingi, South Africa
  • José Rodríguez, Panama
  • Firuz Yogbekov, Tajikistan

These 10 remarkable young people will visit the United States for an intensive program, April 29 to May 12, specially designed to expand their leadership capacities, strengthen their knowledge of management strategies in the non-profit, government and private sectors, learn and share best practices, and broaden their networks of resources and support. The exchange program provides skills training to set awardees on paths for increased collaboration on global issues affecting youth, particularly those involved in building peace, combating extremism, and empowering youth.

Learn more about the award and exchange program at https://exchanges.state.gov/eyl .